Palliative Care

When I cut the stem I knew
it was just a matter of time.

I cleared the sill
and filled a crystal vase.

The petals unfurled.
The smell of summer pierced my skin

for three days.
When the first leaf fell

I added lemon pulp and crushed
an Aspirin;

cut away all that waned–
the shoots were spry

one last day.
I scattered them over green earth.

Flecks of pollen
stained my lips and cheekbones.

pulsebookyr2

http://www.pulsemagazine.org/Archive_Index.cfm?content_id=281

One thought on “Palliative Care

Leave a Reply

